A slap in the face.

I’ve got a love/hate relationship with exhortation. 

On the one hand, you are learning from your mistake.  It’s so cool to see someone genuinely care about you and exhort you with a desire for you to change and mature for the better.  I love that serious tone that the exorter puts on and the earnestness in their eyes as they meet yours full of emotion.  There’s really nothing I love more than hearing, “Hey, you’re doing great, but…here’s how you can do even better.”

On the other hand, there’s the type of exhortation that no matter how lovingly it is given just strikes you with such force that you’re speechless.  You’re left with a blank look on your face and thoughts running around in your head screaming, “Why didn’t I see this coming?”  The proverbial slap in the face. 

Lately my exhortation has felt like a slap in the face.  There’s a bit of a shock factor and embarrassment, but after that wears off, I am left with the passion and drive to change.  The problem is, I see what a lack of motivation has done to me and as I lean towards the side of lukewarmness in my walk, I am determined to change.  Okay, maybe it’s just a dry season, but I have woken up.

  Prov. 6:9
 How long will you slumber, O sluggard?
      When will you rise from your sleep?
 Prov. 6:4
 Give no sleep to your eyes,
      Nor slumber to your eyelids.

~ by russiaugusta on January 9, 2010.

2 Responses to “A slap in the face.”

  1. Oh my WORD! Thanks SO much for stoppin’ by :) I love what you wrote…it’s seriously true! Thanks girl for being you!!!!

  2. Haha, yes! Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

